Book Review: The Iron Raven by Julie Kagawa

Published in Australia on the 24th February, 2021 by HQ Young Adult – US, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers – The first book in The Iron Fey: Evenfall series.

Add The Iron Raven to your Goodreads TBR:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/52515514-the-iron-raven

Purchase Links:

Dymocks:

https://www.dymocks.com.au/book/the-iron-raven-by-julie-kagawa-9781867208327

Booktopia:

https://www.booktopia.com.au/the-iron-raven-julie-kagawa/book/9781867208327.html

Amazon AU:

Angus & Robertson:

http://www.angusrobertson.com.au/books/the-iron-raven-julie-kagawa/p/9781867208327

Australian RRP: $19.99

ISBN: 9781867208327

Format: Paperback

Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Fairytale and Folklore

Page Count: 384

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from HarperCollins Australia

Wicked faeries and fantastic danger… Welcome to book one of the new trilogy in New York Times bestselling author Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey fantasy series, as infamous prankster Puck finally has a chance to tell his story and stand with allies new and old to save Faery and the world. For fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare!

‘You may have heard of me…’

Robin Goodfellow. Puck. Prankster, joker, raven, fool…King Oberon’s right-hand jester from A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The legends are many, but the truth will now be known as never before, as Puck finally tells his own story and faces a threat to the lands of Faery and the human world unlike any before.

With the Iron Queen Meghan Chase and her prince consort, Puck’s longtime rival Ash, and allies old and new by his side, Puck begins a fantastical and dangerous adventure not to be missed or forgotten. Filled with myths and faery lore, romance and unfathomable dangers, The Iron Raven is book one of a new epic fantasy trilogy set in the world of The Iron Fey.

My Review:

I received a copy of The Iron Raven from Harlequin Books Australia in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

Back in 2017 I completely devoured the first four books in Julie Kagawa’s The Iron Fey series, absolutely loving the writing, the illustrious and immersive settings, the characters, my longtime favourite being a hopeful contender for Meaghan Chase’s heart and all-round Jester of her father’s Court, Robin Goodfellow aka Puck, mischievous trickster extraordinaire! When I initially heard about The Iron Raven, I was firstly excited because A) Yay! A new book set in the wonderful but dangerous world of The Iron Fey, from The Forgotten Realms to the Nevernever and so much more in between and:

B) a book (well, a series) told from Puck’s point of view! Getting to read about his thoughts and feelings and just more of his mischievously wicked antics, I was so excited to dive in! As soon as I started reading The Iron Raven, all of those wonderful and whimsical feelings of nostalgia instantly washed over me! It honestly felt like I hadn’t left the world of The Iron Fey, that being said though I feel like I should say it’s probably worth reading the second volumes of books in The Iron Fey series, purely because there’s a character who Puck comes across quite early on in The Iron Raven and we learn about how this certain someone came to be known as how he’s referred to, someone who Puck himself has had quite deep ties to, well, this characters’ family, no less! However, I honestly can’t say I was too fussed about inadvertently learnt about the fate of a certain characters, purely because that means I have 4 books to look forward to reading and seeing how everything cane to be!

The Iron Raven was everything I’d hoped it to be and then some! It felt like such a fun, absolutely at times nail-biting adventure, throw in the addition of some fabulous familiar faces and some absolutely fierce newcomers, namely Nyx, who I loved! Puck practically suggests she’s the female Ash aka Ice Boy, which definitely made me chuckle! (Granted, he’s not at all wrong with his comparison!), but oh, Nyx was just such a fantastic character to read about, her scenes with Puck were absolutely fabulous and her unwavering loyalty to Kierran is definitely admirable! I loved though how Nyx and Puck’s chemistry developed over the course of the book, to me nothing at all felt forced and it all felt completely natural! I really loved reading about Nyx’s character too, it was low-key amusing that she hadn’t heard of Puck in all of his crazy antics and accolades before, much to his dismay! (I mean, this is the guy who inspired Shakespeare to write ‘that play!’ oh, I’m chuckling now as I recall his boastful quips!

Yet, there’s been a force underlying to Puck, something I suppose I was aware of initially when I read the earlier books in the series, but not really something I thought about being more than a feud from the bygone days between Puck and Ice Boy, but when Puck finds himself in quite a compromised situation in this book, all those fierce feelings of bitterness and jealousy (and more) bubble ferociously to the surface, leaving Puck to grapple with those inner malicious inhibitions of his! It definitely made for some slightly edgy reading, seeing the carefree and playful Jester go from just that to being at times consumed by a blazing hatred and fury, oh, it was definitely so, so intense throughout!

I loved, lover the cameo appearances too, from beloved characters in The Iron Fey series which just completely made me so, so happy! Reading about two characters standing shoulder to shoulder just made me completely think back to everything that went down across those first four books in the series! Then, there were some totally sweet moments from other characters and then there was one line towards the end which just made me go “awww!” and ooh, I just can’t wait for the second book, especially after that honestly mean cliffhanger ending and what it means for these fabulous characters, it just felt like such a game changer and I’m still reeling a bit when I think about it!

If you love Young Adult Fantasy and Faerie stories with absolutely sassy characters, (oh, Grim! One of my other favourite characters! I love that sassy, wise feline so much and was so happy to see him get page time!) then you definitely ought to give The Iron Fey series a go and with The Iron Raven being out today, what better reasoning! I absolutely loved every minute of this quest-like story, absolute page turning, fantastical brilliance!

Happy Reading,

Brookly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.