Tag Archives: #mortal Instruments

Book Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

The first novella in The Bane Chronicles 

Published in 2013

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.
This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

My thoughts: 

This was such a fun read, I loved the dynamic between Magnus, Catarina and Ragnor, they had such fun banter and it’s always amazing knowing what’s going on in Magnus’s head. He’s such a quirky character, I loved his funny little nicknames for Ragnor and just seeing these two interact more was just awesome! And the same with Catarina too, I love how the three sort of were united together and they had meaningful chats, as much as they jest at Magnus you can tell they mean well. 

Cassandra Clare’s writing pretty much remains flawless as always and I feel this was a fantastic start to what will be a fabulous novella collection, I feel she’s taking us into Magnus’s thoughts and giving us an idea of how he feels, which is nothing short of amazing! I’ve often wondered how Magnus really feels inside and this book has definitely given me a taste of that! I can’t wait to read more, but what with my ever growing TBR I’m going to try and savour these, hence my individual reviews. Oh, I loved the little adventure at the end with Kitty, they had such a fabulous chemistry between them! 

Until next time, happy reading, 

– Brooklyn The Bookworm ☺️

Advertisements

Book Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare


Book 4 in the Mortal Instruments series

Published: 2012

Pages: 435

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace. 

My thoughts:


So much darkness in this book, I felt like everything was leading up to something so foreboding. This book felt so different to the previous 3 that made up the first volume of the Mortal Instruments, and it was definitely exciting coming back to this book world after jumping into the past with Clockwork Angel! I chose intentionally to follow Clare’s publication order, and reading both series together is amazing! This book definitely had me feeling and in fact it gave me nightmares, especially as I reached the last three chapters. 

For many reasons, this book felt different to its predecessors; there was so much angst and anguish, I could feel Jace’s torment throughout the book, and I felt so sad for him, considering what he’d been through in City of Glass, I felt sad for Clary because of how he was treating her; their love is so powerful but honestly I’m scared for what will come next. I had a feeling what might happen with Jace in this book, yet it didn’t make it any less terrifying. 

I loved also the reference to The Infernal Devices, and how those characters, well one in particular, is connected to Magnus and how said character (Will), definitely impacted the warlock. This made for some Magnus and Alec angst, which I loved, I adore Malec, and I was swooning when they had their scenes. They’re so precious! 

Another thing I really enjoyed about this book is how it was quite Simon focused, from the start, Simon had become one of my favourite characters and I loved seeing things from his perspective, albeit he definitely had a fair share of torment too. Though there was one thing about him in this book that initially annoyed me, but it was okay when Maia and Izzy sort of banded together for a bit. I ship Simon and Izzy, they had some close scenes at the end that I really enjoyed. 

Surrounding new characters and old, this book definitely had a lot of mystery and suspense to it, I definitely didn’t want it to end! Cassandra Clare has definitely cemented her place as one of my favourite authors, ever, and this book and it’s events will definitely stay in my mind for some time! 

And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading 🙂

Brooklyn.

Book Review: City of Glass by Cassandra Clare 


Book 3 in the Mortal Instruments series

Published: 2009

Pages: 492

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

To save her mother’s life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters – never mind that entering the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she learns that Jace does not want her there, and Simon has been thrown in prison by the Shadowhunters, who are deeply suspicious of a vampire who can withstand sunlight.

As Clary uncovers more about her family’s past, she finds an ally in mysterious Shadowhunter Sebastian. With Valentine mustering the full force of his power to destroy all Shadowhunters forever, their only chance to defeat him is to fight alongside their eternal enemies. But can Downworlders and Shadowhunters put aside their hatred to work together? While Jace realizes exactly how much he’s willing to risk for Clary, can she harness her newfound powers to help save the Glass City – whatever the cost?
Love is a mortal sin and the secrets of the past prove deadly as Clary and Jace face down Valentine in the third installment of the New York Times bestselling series The Mortal Instruments.
My thoughts:

Once again I’m amazed with the characters and the plot of this bookworld! Cassandra Clare has well and truly cemented her place as one of my all time favourite authors and the Shadowhunter world is one of my favourite fandoms! 

This book was definitely my favourite of the series! The intensity, actions and feels were just so many steps above the rest! From the first page I was hooked, and I was loving every moment! I instantly knew this book would be thegame changer of the series, we met some new characters and I knew they’d defence set the foundation of what was to come in the book. 

And what was to come?

Pain. Fear. Anticipation. Feels. 

Oh my gosh the feels. This book was full of angst as far as Jace and Clary are concerned but oh gosh it was exquisite. And there were some super feely Malec moments too! 

Shipping feelings aside, there was one scene in this book, a characters’ death, that had my heart in pieces. Now a fair bit of this was anticipation and agony, we don’t actually read about said death, but I wondered what had happened and it was heartbreaking to find out. 

Clare’s characters ALL feel so real, they leap off the page, in fact, the reader is transported into this bookworld. It just develops so much and it’s amazing learning more about the world of the Shadowhunters and everything to do with it! 

This book and its characters made me feel so many emotions! It was just perfection all the way through and there were times throughout when I was internally shrieking in both anger and happiness throughout various scenes. Throughout this book I was kept on the edge of my seat, I had no idea what would come next but I couldn’t wait to find out! 

And that concludes my review, thank you for reading, until next time, happy reading 🙂

Brooklyn.

Book Review: City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Book 2 in the Mortal Instruments series
Published in 2008
Rating: 5 stars

Sypnosis:

Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires and faeries? If Clary left the world of the Shadowhunters behind, it would mean more time with her best friend, Simon, who’s becoming more than a friend. But the Shadowhunting world isn’t ready to let her go—especially her handsome, infuriating, newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil—and also her father.

To complicate matters, someone in New York City is murdering Downworlder children. Is Valentine behind the killings—and if he is, what is he trying to do? When the second of the Mortal Instruments, the Soul-Sword, is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor arrives to investigate and zooms right in on Jace. How can Clary stop Valentine if Jace is willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

In this breathtaking sequel to City of Bones, Cassandra Clare lures her readers back into the dark grip of New York City’s Downworld, where love is never safe and power becomes the deadliest temptation.

Let’s talk about the plot:

I loved book twi even more than book one! I was constantly on the edge of my seat through the 411 pages! I knew after reading book 1 that I finally was happy to be reading these books, but I didn’t know I’d become so obsessed with the characters and the Shadowhunter world! 

I didn’t want this book to end, so much happened and even though I tried to draw out the suspense, I couldn’t put the book down. Cassandra Clare has definitely become one of my a time favourite authors and I’m so grateful for what she has created. The book was non stop excitement, ‘BAM’ all the way through.

Let’s talk about the characters:

Clary is honestly so relatable and frankly I’m proud of how she handled everything! She’s awesome and loyal and fierce but she sure does have a stubborn streak which I love! 

Izzy is another favourite of mine, as she was in book 1. So fierce and loyal and protective, I love her bond with her brothers Alec and Max who I also adore!

I love how much Alec developed! I had lots of questions regarding him in book 1, and I definitely love him even more in book 2! Same with Magnus, who could honestly give Izzy a run for her sass. 

An honourable mention to Luke, who remains amazing as ever, and Valentine the ruthless scum. He’s one villain!

Oh Jace you precious bean, you went through so much and I really felt for you throughout. He’s amazing! And I was cheering and feeling for him throughout! And Simon too! Simon is one of my favourite characters throughout.

Let’s talk about the writing:

Cassie Clare writes so beautifully, she pulls you in from the first page and her writing is so atmospheric and magical! Can’t wait to read book 3! 

And that concludes my review, thanks for reading:

Brooklyn 😀