Tag Archives: Maureen Johnson

Book Review: Bitter of Tongue by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

The 7th story in Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy 

Published in 2015

57 pages 

5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:


When Simon is kidnapped by the fey, he’s amazed to find a friend in former Shadowhunter Mark Blackthorn. One of ten adventures in Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy.

After Simon is kidnapped by faeries (why is he always kidnapped?), he uncovers rumors of a secret weapon Sebastian left behind for the faerie queen. He must escape the Fey, relying on his only ally, former Shadowhunter and Dark Artifices character Mark Blackthorn.
This standalone e-only short story follows the adventures of Simon Lewis, star of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments, as he trains to become a Shadowhunter. Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy features characters from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments, the Infernal Devices, and the upcoming Dark Artifices and Last Hours series. Bitter of Tongue is written by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan.
My Review:


Yes, you read rightly. Yet another Cassie Clare novella that I’ve rated 5 stars. Honestly, I cannot get enough of these! Each story brings something incredible to Simon’s character; they impact him and you can tell he’s slowly piecing things together of who he was, even though he knows he’s someone different now, as it were. But in saying that, each occurrence in each of these novellas are adding all different thoughts and feelings to Simon; and it’s amazing seeing him grow from his time at the Academy; I can’t believe he’s in his second year now! It’s amazing how quickly the time has gone, honestly! 

I really felt sorry for Mark, in this story; I adore him and I know he’s going to feature more in The Dark Artifices; I cannot wait to read more about him; he’s so precious; and he certainly brings some humour and even more feelings too; honestly; his undying devotion to his family made me ache. And I felt all the feels as I saw Julian and Emma at Helen and Aline’s wedding, honestly I love all these characters and I can’t get enough of them! Mark definitely made his… mark (yes, I went there), on Simon – and it was amazing seeing the two characters interact. I wod happily read an extended version of this story, honestly! And Isabelle! When she was there I cheered. I really really cheered! I honestly cheered..okay I said that already, but you get it. Ya’ll know I’m Sizzy trash 😉 I love how in each of these novellas, that the two have some amazing scenes that get me right in the feels! My heart needs them to get together already! 

Honestly, I could continue, but I feel I’ve covered everything?! I cannot wait to continue these, and see these characters again! Definitely an all time favourite here yet again, I thank you Clare..you’re a queen and I’m always going to be hooked and bewitched with the Shadowhunter world. I rarely binge books, but I can’t help it with Clare’s books. The Shadowhunter world is one of my favourite obsessions! 

Okay, that’s truly all, until next time, happy reading –

Brooklyn 🙂 

Advertisements

Book Review: The Evil We Love by Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman

The 5th story in Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy 

Published: 2015

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars 

Pages: 91

Sypnosis from Goodreads:


All evil starts somewhere, and Simon Lewis learns how The Circle—led by Valentine Morgenstern—began. One of ten adventures in Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy.

The Shadowhunter Academy has only just reopened following the disastrous rise of the Circle. Now the faculty can finally admit to what happened when Valentine was a student.

My Review:

This was honestly yet another addictive and angsty addition to The Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy; it was definitely full of Sizzy angst but also it provided some amazing insight to the early days of the Circle: when Valentine, Michael, Robert, Lucian, Amatis, Maryse and Jocelyn were all students at The Academy. We learn this all through the narration of Robert Lightwood, who comes to the Academy to tell Simon and the students about what it and what he was like back then, and why he did the things he did; it was honestly so interesting seeing Robert as a younger character and reading some scenes with him and Michael, who we know from The Mortal Instruments novels, was Robert’s parabatai and closest friend. Of course, it goes so much deeper than that and it was honestly really feely! I felt like the authors really allowed us to experience and see everything from these characters and to be honest I felt equally bad for Robert and Michael, though probably more so with Michael! 

It’s been a year now, we learn, that Simon has been at the Academy for; honestly, how quickly has that gone? I feel like I’ve been there with him, seeing things as he has; and experiencing things as he has; and I think that just goes to show the power of these amazing authors, and Clare especially, for creating such amazing, natural characters. 

See, each novella has been so enthralling and addictive so far, you can’t help but binge through them and want to know what happens next! These, I can tell, will join Clare’s other books on my favourite shelf & I can’t wait to see what’s in store with the rest of these! 

And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading,

Brooklyn 🙂 


Book Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

The first novella in The Bane Chronicles 

Published in 2013

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.
This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

My thoughts: 

This was such a fun read, I loved the dynamic between Magnus, Catarina and Ragnor, they had such fun banter and it’s always amazing knowing what’s going on in Magnus’s head. He’s such a quirky character, I loved his funny little nicknames for Ragnor and just seeing these two interact more was just awesome! And the same with Catarina too, I love how the three sort of were united together and they had meaningful chats, as much as they jest at Magnus you can tell they mean well. 

Cassandra Clare’s writing pretty much remains flawless as always and I feel this was a fantastic start to what will be a fabulous novella collection, I feel she’s taking us into Magnus’s thoughts and giving us an idea of how he feels, which is nothing short of amazing! I’ve often wondered how Magnus really feels inside and this book has definitely given me a taste of that! I can’t wait to read more, but what with my ever growing TBR I’m going to try and savour these, hence my individual reviews. Oh, I loved the little adventure at the end with Kitty, they had such a fabulous chemistry between them! 

Until next time, happy reading, 

– Brooklyn The Bookworm ☺️