Tag Archives: book geek

Book Review: Chasing Red by Isabelle Ronin

Published in 2017 by Sourebooks

Pages: 387

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

They said she was going to be my ruin…

Then let her ruin me.

Caleb Lockhart has everything—wealth, adoration, a brilliant future. Until a chance encounter with a siren in a red dress changes everything. Until he meets the woman he dubs Red.
Veronica Strafford’s past makes it hard for her to trust anyone. Now, kicked out of her apartment, she reluctantly accepts Caleb’s offer for a place to stay.
Caleb feels intensely drawn to Veronica. And, for the first time in his life, he really wants something—someone. Too bad Veronica’s heart might just be the one thing Caleb can’t win.

My Review:


I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review; this in no way affects my thoughts on the book. 

I honestly don’t think this book was for me; I mean it had it’s funny moments but for most part I found it cheesey and cringey. Initially, I found myself liking Veronica, but then I honestly got so fed up with the lack of character development, and was irked that we didn’t find out more about her early life; see, I feel like this book could have been a hell of a lot more interesting than what it was; were it not for the fact that it was a cycle of Caleb and Red desperately wanting one another. 

Caleb honestly annoyed me to the core, he was so spoilt and personally I think he was selfish and rude; initially I think he shows signs of being an abusive character and honestly he makes some childish decisions throughout the book; which just annoyed me; his actions felt melodramatic, and every second thing he said was a sexual innuendo; and I didn’t think that was necessary; honestly the whole book played out like a cliche soap opera; I felt like there were opportunities for character development, but as the title suggests; the author focused heavily on the romance in this book, and for me it was just way overdone. 
Then again, this is of course my sole opinion; and just because I don’t like this book, doesn’t mean someone else won’t. From what I can see, the author and these books have a huge following; and that’s good for her and once again, thank you to Harriet McInerney over at New South Books for the review copy.
Until next time, happy reading,
Brooklyn 🙂 

Advertisements

Book Review: What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

The first novella in The Bane Chronicles 

Published in 2013

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.

There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.
This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

My thoughts: 

This was such a fun read, I loved the dynamic between Magnus, Catarina and Ragnor, they had such fun banter and it’s always amazing knowing what’s going on in Magnus’s head. He’s such a quirky character, I loved his funny little nicknames for Ragnor and just seeing these two interact more was just awesome! And the same with Catarina too, I love how the three sort of were united together and they had meaningful chats, as much as they jest at Magnus you can tell they mean well. 

Cassandra Clare’s writing pretty much remains flawless as always and I feel this was a fantastic start to what will be a fabulous novella collection, I feel she’s taking us into Magnus’s thoughts and giving us an idea of how he feels, which is nothing short of amazing! I’ve often wondered how Magnus really feels inside and this book has definitely given me a taste of that! I can’t wait to read more, but what with my ever growing TBR I’m going to try and savour these, hence my individual reviews. Oh, I loved the little adventure at the end with Kitty, they had such a fabulous chemistry between them! 

Until next time, happy reading, 

– Brooklyn The Bookworm ☺️

Goodreads Monday

Hi bookworms, it’s Brooklyn The Bookworm back after a little bit! I hope everyone is well and is having a great reading month so far! 

Goodreads Monday is a weekly meme where one picks a book off their TBR and showcases it! So without further ado, presenting this week’s Goodreads Monday choice!


PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han! 

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.

She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.

When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

My Thoughts:

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is one of my favourite contemporaries, it was such a light, sweet, fun and feely read. Lara Jean Song is one of my favourite characters in a contemporary, she’s so relatable: she’s a homebody and loves spending time with her family and baking. She definitely grew a lot in the first book and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for her in books 2 and 3! 🙊


Happy reading, bookworms!

– Brooklyn The Bookworm 📚🗝

Book Review: City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare


Book 4 in the Mortal Instruments series

Published: 2012

Pages: 435

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

The Mortal War is over, and sixteen-year-old Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She’s training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Downworlders and Shadowhunters are at peace at last. And—most importantly of all—she can finally call Jace her boyfriend.

But nothing comes without a price.

Someone is murdering Shadowhunters, provoking tensions between Downworlders and Shadowhunters that could lead to a second, bloody war. Clary’s best friend, Simon, can’t help her—his mother just found out that he’s a vampire, and now he’s homeless. When Jace begins to pull away from her without explaining why, Clary is forced to delve into the heart of a mystery whose solution reveals her worst nightmare: she herself has set in motion a terrible chain of events that could lead to her losing everything she loves. Even Jace. 

My thoughts:


So much darkness in this book, I felt like everything was leading up to something so foreboding. This book felt so different to the previous 3 that made up the first volume of the Mortal Instruments, and it was definitely exciting coming back to this book world after jumping into the past with Clockwork Angel! I chose intentionally to follow Clare’s publication order, and reading both series together is amazing! This book definitely had me feeling and in fact it gave me nightmares, especially as I reached the last three chapters. 

For many reasons, this book felt different to its predecessors; there was so much angst and anguish, I could feel Jace’s torment throughout the book, and I felt so sad for him, considering what he’d been through in City of Glass, I felt sad for Clary because of how he was treating her; their love is so powerful but honestly I’m scared for what will come next. I had a feeling what might happen with Jace in this book, yet it didn’t make it any less terrifying. 

I loved also the reference to The Infernal Devices, and how those characters, well one in particular, is connected to Magnus and how said character (Will), definitely impacted the warlock. This made for some Magnus and Alec angst, which I loved, I adore Malec, and I was swooning when they had their scenes. They’re so precious! 

Another thing I really enjoyed about this book is how it was quite Simon focused, from the start, Simon had become one of my favourite characters and I loved seeing things from his perspective, albeit he definitely had a fair share of torment too. Though there was one thing about him in this book that initially annoyed me, but it was okay when Maia and Izzy sort of banded together for a bit. I ship Simon and Izzy, they had some close scenes at the end that I really enjoyed. 

Surrounding new characters and old, this book definitely had a lot of mystery and suspense to it, I definitely didn’t want it to end! Cassandra Clare has definitely cemented her place as one of my favourite authors, ever, and this book and it’s events will definitely stay in my mind for some time! 

And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading 🙂

Brooklyn.