Book Review: The Perfect Wife by JP Delaney

Click the above image to add The Perfect Wife to your Goodreads TBR!

Published on the 6th August by Hachette Australia.

Trade Paperback Price: $32.99

Gene: Mystery, Thriller Fiction.

Page Count: 433

My Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Hachette Australia:

“There’s something I have to explain, my love,” he says, taking your hand in his. “That wasn’t a dream. It was an upload.”

Abbie wakes in a hospital bed with no memory of how she got there. The man by her side explains that he’s her husband. He’s a titan of the tech world, the founder of one of Silicon Valley’s most innovative startups. He tells Abbie she’s a gifted artist, a doting mother to their young son, and the perfect wife.

Five years ago, she suffered a terrible accident. Her return from the abyss is a miracle of science, a breakthrough in artificial intelligence that has taken him half a decade to achieve.

But as Abbie pieces together memories of her marriage, she begins questioning her husband’s motives – and his version of events. Can she trust him when he says he wants them to be together for ever? And what really happened to her, half a decade ago?

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of The Woman in the Windowand The Wife Between Us.

My Review:

Thank you Hachette Australia for providing me with an Uncorrected Proof Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts are my own.

This book was so engaging and nail biting throughout!! The concept is so unique too! I’ve never read anything about something known as a cobot to this extreme! The reader is presented with Abbie Cullen, but not as she knows herself! Supposedly, her grieving husband is informing her that she’s returned from the cusp of death, defying all the odds! Instantly I was weary of Tim, I must admit, and was not at all surprised when its announced that Tim may have been suspected of harming his darling Abbie! This instantly made me need to know what would come next and it was just so intriguing as pieces of Abbie’s life came back to her, as she relived her wedding day and tried to get back into her every day life!

There were definitely twists aplenty here, just when I thought I had an idea about what was happening, something else came along and totally threw me unexpectedly, but it was great! Even as Abbie finds herself receiving cryptic messages on her old phone, I never would have guessed who they were being sent from: warning Abbie that Tim is not to be trusted!

This book was told in such a unique and different narrative too! It rotates between third and second person, so that the reader, I feel, is projected into the mind of Abbie, being dubbed you, so for me, it felt like I was right there as her, which made this all the more unique!! I really enjoyed too how the narration jumped to third person, in the tone of one of Tim’s colleagues, which bought to my attention how ruthless the man is at work, how he’ll stop at nothing to ensure his vision is captured! I also felt it was interesting that these flashbacks told us about how Tim was in his personal life too, struggling with women (truthfully, I thought he came across as a slight git, its revealed that he belittles a woman for not wanting to sleep with him after he spoils her), but after he meets Abbie, he becomes seemingly the devoted Husband and Father, cherishing Abbie so much and worrying to no end when she seemingly has her accident!! All throughout, I never knew his true instincts and intentions and it definitely made for more unsettling reading and a wholly unique reading experience!!

The Perfect Wife is out now! Fans of any good, twisty page turner will not want to miss this!! A huge thank you again to Hachette Australia for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review!

Happy Reading,

Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.