Book Review: Girl Made of Stars by Ashley Herring Blake

Click the daylights out of this image to add Girl Made of Stars to your Goodreads TBR. Click! I say this because it is hands down, one of the most ESSENTIAL books that everyone must, must read!

Published in 2018 by Houghton

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary, Romance.

Page Count: 295

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

For readers of Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Becomes an emotionally gripping story about facing hard truths in the aftermath of sexual assault.
Mara and Owen are as close as twins can get, so when Mara’s friend Hannah accuses Owen of rape, Mara doesn’t know what to think. Can her brother really be guilty of such a violent act? Torn between her family and her sense of right and wrong, Mara feels lost, and it doesn’t help that things are strained with her ex-girlfriend, Charlie. As Mara, Hannah, and Charlie come together in the aftermath of this terrible crime, Mara must face a trauma from her own past and decide where Charlie fits into her future. With sensitivity and openness, this timely novel confronts the difficult questions surrounding consent, victim blaming, and sexual assault.

My Review:

I’m not even sure that I can ever find words to fathom how much I absolutely adored this book and how I just utterly loved its powerful message and how close I felt to these amazing female characters! But I’m sure as anything going to gush about the wholly amazing reading experience that was this book!

Firstly, the diversity! The main character is a female bisexual, who had recently gone through a painful breakup with not just her girlfriend but her best friend, who admits she doesn’t feel quite comfortable as a female and whilst she is indeed comfortable with the she pronouns, she identifies as neither gender too.

Charlie and Mara, wow! My heart was just utterly captivated from both of them, feeling Mara’s absolute angst at having broken up with her girlfriend, but still having such a longing for her, I felt like I also could feel Mara’s jealousy when she sees Charlie with a new potential girlfriend, but just the chemistry the both of these shared, their friendship is so precious and I could just tell so much how warmly they still see one another, like, I could feel their chemistry!

I absolutely also adored the initial precious bond between Mara and her other half for all infinity, Owen, her twin brother! I loved their initial storytelling under the stars, the boy and girl under the stars, bound by an infinite adoration for one another! It’s just when Owen is accused of raping his girlfriend, that things just won’t be the same again.

It hurt so much! Not just the visible cracks that Mara felt after her brother is accused of this, but the fact that Mara herself (which I totally understand), is so torn up by what her brother did, as one would be, but it’s just the fact that, okay, I’m not going to lie, it was hard to read throughout as Mara was trying to accept what she had to understand happen, but also – she knows her brother, well, she thinks she does and whilst she doesn’t want to think differently of her brother, she knows his actions are unforgivable and isn’t willing to turn a blind eye too it! I mean, their parents are a total solid support network, but oh so stubborn! I completely saw this novel from Mara’s point of view (well, it was told from her perspective), but I knew as I was reading this that I was right alongside her throughout her journey!

There were so many powerful moments throughout this book, where I was just aching for Mara and Hannah (Owen’s former girlfriend), who had to go through so much pain after the incident (there’s a scene where she tells Mara about the rape test that she takes at the hospital), whilst I found this so heartbreaking to read, it just felt so real! But what I also loved so so much about this book, was Mara’s firm belief that girls shouldn’t be silenced! This took such an emotional turn in itself too, as we learn about a particularly brutal action that Mara had gone through, treated in such a disdainful way by and of her own Teachers!

The fact that no one was there for her to confide in was just so heartbreaking, but I love how she confided in Hannah, and vice versa! They are not alone, they had such a beautiful friendship too, I mean, they had always been close, but their grief over what they had went through just bought them together more! They’re not damaged or broken, they’re amazing and I just honestly count this book as one of my very most all time favourites! It carries so many important messages, I cannot urge everyone to read this enough!

Happy Reading, (pick up this book!),

Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.