Book Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

Releases on the 26th July, 2018

Published by Bookouture

Genres: Mystery, Young Adult Fiction.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Disclaimer: I received an eARC of this book from the Publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This has no impact on my thoughts on the book.

Goodreads Sypnosis:

I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can’t escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer’s murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

My Review:

This was such a unique, chilling story! I felt like I was on the edge of my seat throughout, and I never really knew what to expect next nor who to trust! The mystery element was so enthralling and atmospheric, I felt like I could visualise everything that was being described!

The book starts with Ellie, or Eleanor, waking, unaware of what happened the night before, but despite this, she believes she has drowned, and yet she is still seemingly alive and well?

What follows is easily one of the most chilling and perplexing books that I’ve ever read! Instantly, I adored Ellie and I felt like I was drawn into her story throughout, her relationship with her mum and her brother, albeit strained, were very natural and they all felt like everyday people that I could relate to. I enjoyed Ellie’s relationship with her mum, the scenes were very well written and throughout I definitely felt emotional for them both, Ellie’s mum had her own grief she was still coming to terms with (it’s mentioned that Ellie and Ollie’s dad died when they were younger), and given what Ollie had gone through (having dated Sarah, who was murdered prior to this story, a murder that is still yet to be solved), there was not a moment in this story where I felt bored!

I love the mystery elements woven throughout! I mean, some mystery books feel like they’re seemingly leading up to the end on a clear path, but this was just so interesting and mysterious throughout! I felt like I was right there with Ellie, trying to piece together what had happened to her. Was she still alive? Dead? Oh reader, if you’re looking for a fabulous, chilling mystery, this is for you!

The mystery aspect was just too good! Eleanor noticed early after returning home that she has lost some of her senses; taste, for food tastes earthy and non flavorful to her and touch, when her mum tries to comfort her, noticing that she doesn’t seem too well, Ellie can’t feel her presence. I hadn’t read anything where the narrator had gone through this before, and it was just such a chilling and unique reading experience! The book is told in first person point of view, so throughout this book, I felt like I was easily in Ellie’s shoes, feeling as she felt, thinking as she thought! Who could we trust, who are our real friends? What is Ollie up to? What really happened to Sarah all those years ago? This book grabbed me from the start and I was wholly intrigued!

I felt like the twists and turns throughout this book were aplenty, I never really knew what was going to come next nor did I know who to trust, and by the end I was so desperate to know who the culprit was, and why everything tied together, I was shook when the book reached its penultimate conclusion!

I feel incredibly excited that I had an opportunity to read this book before release, and thanks again to NetGalley and the Publishers for an eARC in exchange for review.

Happy Reading,

Brooklyn.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.