Book Review: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia 


Published in 2015

Pages: 428

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be—sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. Made You Up tells the story of Alex, a high school senior unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. This is a compelling and provoking literary debut that will appeal to fans of Wes Anderson, Silver Linings Playbook and Liar.

Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal. 

Funny, provoking, and ultimately moving, this debut novel featuring the quintessential unreliable narrator will have readers turning the pages and trying to figure out what is real and what is made up. 

My Review:


I’m honestly not even sure where to begin here, this was such a beautiful and unique read. I’ve rarely read books with such strong mental illness theme, and in this book, it’s the main character, Alex, who suffers from schizophrenia and paranoia. 

Now, as far as paranoia and mental illness goes, I’ve seen both closely; and I felt like I could relate to Alex, to a small degree. This book was honestly so well written and it was paced so quickly, I could hardly put it down. The reader is literally thrust into the world of Alex’s, where, without being too spoilery, we don’t know what’s real and what’s not; and honestly, I’ve read nothing like this before, and daresay I never will again, but hey, never say never. The emotions through this book were unreal, I felt like I was feeling as Alex was, and whilst I was expecting some things to not be real; when I found out what wasn’t; I couldn’t believe it! Honestly, it was such a shock, I’m still reeling even as I type. 

There was some really cute romance throughout this book, honestly; I loved how Zappia developed that part of the storyline, but at the same time, it didn’t feature too heavily throughout the story. Miles, who had gone through some hardships of his own; he was honestly such a fabulous character and I was cheering when he spoke towards Alex’s parents. Now, without being too spoilery, they were definitely interesting characters; but there were times where I didn’t exactly like her mum, I mean, she was brutal sometimes; but at other times you could tell both Alex’s mum and dad really loved their daughter; and there were definitely some tender moments between Alex and her parents, which I loved. 

What I loved even more though, is Alex’s bond with her little sister, it was honestly so perfect and beautiful. The whole book was such a unique, eye opening delight to read, and I definitely felt like it was an invitation into the character’s life, and I definitely felt like I went on her journey with her!
And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading, 

Brooklyn 🙂 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s