Book Review: Chasing Red by Isabelle Ronin

Published in 2017 by Sourebooks

Pages: 387

Rating: 1 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

They said she was going to be my ruin…

Then let her ruin me.

Caleb Lockhart has everything—wealth, adoration, a brilliant future. Until a chance encounter with a siren in a red dress changes everything. Until he meets the woman he dubs Red.
Veronica Strafford’s past makes it hard for her to trust anyone. Now, kicked out of her apartment, she reluctantly accepts Caleb’s offer for a place to stay.
Caleb feels intensely drawn to Veronica. And, for the first time in his life, he really wants something—someone. Too bad Veronica’s heart might just be the one thing Caleb can’t win.

My Review:


I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review; this in no way affects my thoughts on the book. 

I honestly don’t think this book was for me; I mean it had it’s funny moments but for most part I found it cheesey and cringey. Initially, I found myself liking Veronica, but then I honestly got so fed up with the lack of character development, and was irked that we didn’t find out more about her early life; see, I feel like this book could have been a hell of a lot more interesting than what it was; were it not for the fact that it was a cycle of Caleb and Red desperately wanting one another. 

Caleb honestly annoyed me to the core, he was so spoilt and personally I think he was selfish and rude; initially I think he shows signs of being an abusive character and honestly he makes some childish decisions throughout the book; which just annoyed me; his actions felt melodramatic, and every second thing he said was a sexual innuendo; and I didn’t think that was necessary; honestly the whole book played out like a cliche soap opera; I felt like there were opportunities for character development, but as the title suggests; the author focused heavily on the romance in this book, and for me it was just way overdone. 
Then again, this is of course my sole opinion; and just because I don’t like this book, doesn’t mean someone else won’t. From what I can see, the author and these books have a huge following; and that’s good for her and once again, thank you to Harriet McInerney over at New South Books for the review copy.
Until next time, happy reading,
Brooklyn 🙂 

Leave a Reply

