Book Review: Nothing But Shadows by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan 

The fourth novella in Tales from The Shadowhunter Academy 

Pages: 96

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars 

Published: 2015

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

Simon learns about James Herondale’s time at Shadowhunter Academy. One of ten adventures in Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy.

It’s hard to be a Shadowhunter when you’ve got demonic powers. Simon learns about the school-time struggles of half-warlock James Herondale in this prelude to The Last Hours.

This standalone e-only short story follows the adventures of Simon Lewis.

My Review:


This was honestly perfection, I can’t fault it. It was literally a prelude to The Last Hours, and I loved every moment! It was honestly heavenly reading about little James Herondale and getting snippets of his sister, I cannot freaking wait for The Last Hours; I need more of the Herondales/Carstairs in my life! 

I especially loved the growing friendship and bond between Matthew Fairchild and James, honestly, Matthew had some freaking amazing character development!! And James did too; although I knew of his power from reading The Midnight Heir in The Bane Chronicles; I thought this story was honestly really well done, in getting James used to what he can do. 

Other characters that were in this novella were interesting too, knowing how they all connected to the main characters, but for me this novella was honestly all about James, Matthew and of course Simon- and Jem, oh my heart the scenes with Jem were so beautiful! But as for Simon – He learns a lot from this story, still also dealing with his little memory fragments, and knows who he could possibly turn to in order to get his own parabatai. I for one cannot wait for that to get explored more!

And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading 🙂 

Brooklyn 🙂

Leave a Reply

