Book Review: The Assassin and the Pirate Lord by Sarah J Maas

The first short story in the novella “The Assassin’s Blade”, a prequel novella to the Throne of Glass series. 

Pages: 77

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Sypnosis from Goodreads:

A Throne of Glass novella.

On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She’s been sent by the Assassin’s Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates. But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes—and she will risk everything to right the wrong she’s been sent to bring about.

My thoughts:

For me, this was the start of something amazing. I love the Throne of Glass books, and Celaena and Sam are two of my favourite characters, ever. I have read this novella 3 times (I think, maybe 4), and I never tire of Sam and Celaena’s scenes. Their banter is the stuff of life, even though I know what happens in the last novella, I still think Sam is her equal in every way. 

It’s funny, re reading a first novella after reading all other books in this series (I’m re reading them in anticipation for Tower of Dawn, I can’t believe it’s less than a month away!) and knowing what happens in each book. 

One of my favourite things in this book, aside from Sam and Celaena’s scenes, is the dramatic irony of Celaena freeing the slaves that Arobbyn (I loathe him) sent her and Sam to deal with. The co-conspirator in this slave game is one Pirate Lord, Rolfe (where we get the title). I never actually cared for Rolfe to be honest, I found him a callous, arrogant guy, and even though I enjoy pirate type stories (and I guess Rolfe is a bit above your typical pirate), I didn’t like his selfishness in regards to the slaves. 

What I did love also was Celaena’s sass and bravery! She’s 16 and an assassin who literally, even though she and Sam kill people for a living, (slight spoiler ahead) she chooses not to agree with the slave bargain and does her darndest to fight for their freedom. There’s lots of wit in her narration, I love the audacity of everything in this novella, and that there’s definitely early hints of her chemistry with Sam.

Definitely one of my favourite novellas in this collection, and I’m excited to read the rest once more. 

And that concludes my review, until next time, happy reading.

Brooklyn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

