Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows.

Published: 2016 by Walker Books

Pages: 414

Rating: 5/5

Sypnosis From Goodreads:

Edward (long live the king) is the King of England. He’s also dying, which is inconvenient, as he’s only sixteen and he’d much rather be planning for his first kiss than considering who will inherit his crown…

Jane (reads too many books) is Edward’s cousin, and far more interested in books than romance. Unfortunately for Jane, Edward has arranged to marry her off to secure the line of succession. And there’s something a little odd about her intended…
Gifford (call him G) is a horse. That is, he’s an Eðian (eth-y-un, for the uninitiated). Every day at dawn he becomes a noble chestnut steed—but then he wakes at dusk with a mouthful of hay. It’s all very undignified.
The plot thickens as Edward, Jane, and G are drawn into a dangerous conspiracy. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, our heroes will have to engage in some conspiring of their own. But can they pull off their plan before it’s off with their heads? 
My Thoughts: 

Firstly, let me make it clear; I’m a massive history enthusiast and Lady Jane Grey is one of my favourite figures from history, a hero of mine, in fact. 

So when I started reading this book, I had so much trepidation going in; what if it made such a mockery of the times, and characters? 

Which of course, it did; but oh my goodness it was so well done! This was one of the most trippiest books that I’ve ever read; it’s so unique, and it was so entertaining. I laughed, large, snorting laughs so many times throughout. I loved the almost sarcastic narration from the authors throughout. 

I love how they portrayed the characters; if I wasn’t reading a satirical piece; I would’ve felt as if that they were writing the characters as they actually were in real life! 

I especially loved the chapters that the young, sick, Prince Edward, narrated. I had always wondered what would be going on in his mind, as a teriminally ill boy, who was King of England no less, and in a sense, this made me sympathise with him more.

Guildford Dudley, or Gifford as he’s called; now, I would be fibbing if I didn’t say that I slightly crushed on him throughout. His and Jane’s relationship with one another made me majorly swoon; they’re both precious. 

I loved the take on Bess, Queen Elizabeth I, and the supporting character, Gracie. They were both brilliant characters; strong willed, fierce ladies; and I totally shipped Gracie with Edward. I felt the portrayal of Mary I was quite cruel, I mean, I’ve never been her number one fan, but she was always so strict and blinded by her faith to see anything other than what she wanted to see. 

Jane was the hero of this book for me; she was portrayed just as I picture her in history, minus the fact that she could turn into a ferret in this book (yes, you so read that right!). I always love a character that loves reading books! And Jane loves her books. 

I must say also that I thought the concept of these people being able to turn into animals was quite wickedly clever;it added a lot of comic relief throughout the story and resulted in those laughs from me. 

In all it’s whackinesd, this book became a fast favourite and I’d definitley read it again.

I really hope The Lady Janies, the three authors, collaborate more on books like these. I’d love to read their takes on other historical figures. 

Favourite quotes:

‘Books were Jane’s great love: history and philosophy and religion, mostly; but anything she could get her hands on.’

‘Who on earth could feel comfortable enough to sleep in a room with no books?’
And thus concludes my review, thanks for reading, 

Brooklyn 🙂 

One thought on “Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows.

Leave a Reply

