Book Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Book 3 in the Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children series. 

Published: 2015 by Quirk Books

Pages: 458

Rating: 5/5

Sypnosis From Goodreads:

A boy with extraordinary powers. An army of deadly monsters. An epic battle for the future of peculiardom.

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued in Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.
They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.
My Thoughts:

I truly didn’t want this series to end, I would happily read 100 books about everything Peculiar. I just love this book world so much. It’s definitely been a one of a kind trilogy, and I daresay nothing would be able to match up with its level of both peculiarity and awesomeness. 

This third instalment was by far my favourite in the series; it had me even further on the edge of my seat than the previous two books, and my heart was racing as I kept reading. I was so nervous for our Peculiar friends, would they find each other once again? Would Jacob have to make a life altering decision? Read the book and find out 😉

There were so many twists and turns throughout; and Riggs’ captures the eras perfectly. I felt like I was travelling along with my Peculiar friends; speaking of which, Emma and Jacob were both badass in this book! There were definitley no dull moments where they were concerned; around the  75% mark especially, I was screaming and gasping in shock as to what was happening. 

Through the first third of this book also, I missed characters such as Bronwyn, Olive and even grumpy Enoch; not all was lost though, they all made reappearances – as did our favourite ymbrene, Miss Alma Le Fay Peregrine and our new furry friend, Addison, the talking dog. All these characters were utterly brilliant and endearing in their own way; I’ll definitely miss reading about their adventures. 

I’m officially in awe of Ransom Riggs and his wonderful, magical writing style. It really was all the genres rolled into one epic trilogy that definitley stands as one of my all time favourites. 

I loved the moment when the meaning of the title of the book came to light. It was horrifically perfect; and the library of souls itself was utterly nightmare inducing. The book, like its others, were so atmospheric, you really feel like you can picture what your reading play out in your head as a movie. 

Thank you Mr Riggs, for writing such a wonderful series. 

And thus ends another review. I hope you’re all having a great weekend and happy reading 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

