Book Review: Forever Autumn by Mark Morris

A Doctor Who New Adventure novel featuring The Tenth Doctor and Martha Jones. 

Published: 2005 by BBC Books

Pages: 244

Rating: 5/5

Sypnosis From Goodreads:

It is almost Halloween in the sleepy New England town of Blackwood Falls. Autumn leaves litter lawns and sidewalks, paper skeletons hang in windows, and carved pumpkins leer from stoops and front porches.

The Doctor and Martha soon discover that something long-dormant has awoken in the town, and this will be no ordinary Halloween. What is the secret of the ancient chestnut tree and the mysterious book discovered tangled in its roots? What rises from the local churchyard in the dead of night, sealing up the lips of the only witness? And why are the harmless trappings of Halloween suddenly taking on a creepy new life of their own?
As nightmarish creatures prowl the streets, the Doctor and Martha must battle to prevent both the townspeople and themselves from suffering a grisly fate…
Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Martha as played by David Tennant and Freema Agyeman in the hit sci-fi series from BBC Television. 
My Thoughts:

Now this is how a Doctor Who novel should be written; it was an utterly brilliant read and I could see everything play out in my mind as I read it; it was simply just like watching an episode as I read; I could even hear the characters read the lines!

The setting was initially so spooky and atmospheric; I loved the continuing mist throughout the book, and it maintained its spooky theme throughout the story. I mean, who doesn’t love a good story where monsters rise from the grave? I was even so spooked initially that I would only read it when the sun was still out! 

The plot was genius too; I felt like it kept Martha and myself guessing and intrigued, with only The Doctor to guide us through the story. I also loved that a book itself (yes, a book within a book, of sorts) was so integral to the story. A magic book, nonetheless; one that had its own powers and a mind of its own. 

The characters were written so well! Ten especially; he’s one of my favourite Doctors, and I found myself laughing out loud at so many of his lines and quirky actions; I loved the constant references to the Doctor’s past adventures (eg, the cats dressed as Nuns). It was also so entertaining to picture him scoff down that ice cream sundaes, as well as hearing him speak in his usual rapid pace when trying to avoid a sticky situation. 

Martha was for once, written as she should be; I adore her, and feel she’s vastly underrated in the Doctor Who fandom; she’s intelligent and more than able to adequately hold her own, which we saw in this novel. 

The supporting characters were great too; and I loved the elderly lady with her cluster of cats – when I first met them earlier on in the book; the cats caught me by such shock that I wasn’t able to look at my own the same for the rest of that day (they were demonic, and I often joke about my own cat being a little demon!).

This book was packed to the brim with amazing quotes, here I will list my favourites; 

“Old enough to make my teeth itch. And my palms…maybe I’m allergic.”

“You’d better avoid Keith Richards then,” said Martha. “He’d bring you out in hives.”

“That’s what I love about you, Martha Jones! You use your brain!”
“By the pricking of my thumbs, something wicked this way comes.”

“Fear is a sign of intelligence.”

“Forward, backward, sideways. Half the time I don’t know whether I’m coming or going.”

And finally, one that resonated strongly with me, and I feel the rest of you will enjoy; 

“Never underestimate the power of the printed word. End of story.”

Thanks for reading my review, guys. Until next time, happy reading, Brooklyn 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Forever Autumn by Mark Morris

Leave a Reply

